PSD (Psychiatric Service Animal)

In December 2020, the US Department of Transportation (DoT) announced that emotional support animals will no longer be considered service animals. This provision comes into effect on 28.02.2021 and is a recommendation for all airlines worldwide flying within the USA or to/from America, i.e. currently not an absolute requirement.

We expect that the majority of airlines will follow this recommendation as they limit the previous abuse with Emotional Support Animals. In this new scheme, Service Animal defines “a dog individually trained to perform work or tasks for the benefit of a person with a disability.”

Since airlines will have different offers for travelling with animals from March 2021, it is essential to know exactly which terms and conditions apply to the booked flight before each trip. Only on this basis can you find the CURRENT best option that suits you and your pet.

This is the safest way to avoid unpleasant surprises (or costs).

ESAeuropeTipp: In addition, re-insure yourself by having the airline of your choice give you the ok for YOUR animal, ESA or PSD, in writing when you book the trip. Take this written communication in 2-fold copy on the trip to prove in case there are problems the agreement made. What an airline has confirmed and you can prove, you can claim!

ESAeurope Note: All statements made by ESAeurope on the subject of PSD are based on the recommendations of the US DoT Standards and not on the local regulations of various European states and institutions on the subject of service dog, therapy dog or service dog. This is because ESAeurope recognizes the special and other requirements of a Psychiatric Service Dog for the care and support of affected persons and does not see them in connection with the training of common service dogs.

Now some general information on PSD (Psychiatric Service Animal).

Definition Service Dog

A service animal is a dog,regardless of breed or type, that is individually trained to perform work or perform tasks for the benefit of a qualified person with a disability, including a physical, sensory, psychiatric,intellectual or other intellectual disability. Animals other than dogs, emotional support bulls, comfort animals, companion animals and service animals in training are not service animals within the meaning of this definition.

Definition PSD (Psychiatric Service Dog)

A Psychiatric Service Dog is by definition a service dog that is oriented towards the care of a person’s mental and psychiatric disabilities. Psychiatric service animals are treated in the same way as other service animals who are individually trained to do work or perform a task for the benefit of a qualified person with a disability. Carriers are allowed to restrict service animals to dogs, which is actually recommended in the US DoT recommendation text.

Definition Of PSD (Psychiatric Service Dog) supervisors

A service animal caregiver is an air passenger who is either a qualified person with a disability who receives support from a service animal (or a maximum of 2 service dogs) who performs necessary work or tasks directly related to the person’s disability, or another person accompanying the person with a disability travelling with a service animal (for example, a parent of a minor child or a caregiver). The caregiver of the service animal is responsible for keeping the animal under control, caring for and supervising the animal at all times, including going to the toilet and feeding.

Specifications for acceptance of a Psychiatric Service Dog

The current regulation of the US DoT (Final Rule) allows airlines to require passengers with a mental or psychiatric disability travelling with a service animal to be liable to a Fill out the us DOT developed form and submit it to the airline, which certifies the training and good behavior of the animal and the good health of the animal.

In case of flight durations eight hours or more, the US DoT recommendation allows airlines to ask for a written certificate, that the animal is able to ease itself on a long flight or to facilitate itself in a hygienic manner. This is another requirement for the required training of the dog.

Appropriate forms must be submitted up to 48 hours before the date of travel if the passenger has been booked before that date if the airline requires it. Alternatively, airlines may require a passenger with a disability who wishes to travel with a service animal in the cabin to present the forms at the passenger’s departure gate on the day of travel.

Airlines are required to provide passengers travelling with a PSD with the same comfortable check-in benefits available to other passengers (for example, online and curbside check-in).

The US DoT’s requirement allows airlines to have additional safety-related requirements. Examples are: linen, wearing the bite basket, labelling of the PSD and others. The airline may also hold the dog owner liable for any damage caused by the service animal. Furthermore, airlines may order in case of misconduct to remove the animal, or only to carry it in the cargo hold. In addition, you should expect to be asked about the training of the PSD.

Training of the PSD

The U.S. Department of Transportation requires adequate training of the Psychiatric Service Dog, but does not define what this training must look like on a case-by-case basis and detail, or who can and may perform this training. We interpret this with the specificity of the individual requirements for dogs that provide their services to people with mental health problems. According to the US DoT, the training can therefore also be done by the dog handler himself, as long as this training and success of the training is tested and confirmed. However, it is to be expected that standards relating to this training will be defined sooner or later.

General training content on the PSD

  • The dogmust be guided and controlled by its owner.
  • The dog does not exhibit aggressive behavior/threatening gestures towards other humans and animals.
  • The dog is emotionally stable, calm and calm and can regulate stress independently. Unusual situations are tried, tested and manageable (such as sudden loud noises or movement in a crowd without aggressive behavior).
  • The dog has practiced to behave calmly and inconspicuously for the duration of the travel time. It will stay in its place.
  • The dog is cared for by its owner and masters the adapted running of its business.

PSD (Psychiatric Service Animal)

This post is also available in: English

Im Dezember 2020 kündigte das US DoT (US Department of Transportation) an, dass emotionale Unterstützungstiere nicht mehr als Servicetiere gelten werden. Diese Bestimmung tritt mit 28.02.2021 in Kraft und ist für alle Airlines weltweit, die innerhalb der USA oder von/nach Amerika fliegen eine Empfehlung, also derzeit nicht absolute Vorgabe.

Wir gehen davon aus, dass sich die Mehrzahl aller Fluggesellschaften dieser Empfehlung anschliessen werden, da diese den bisherigen Missbrauch mit Emotional Support Animals einschränken. In dieser neuen Regelung ist in Servicetier als “ein Hund definiert, der individuell darauf trainiert ist, Arbeiten oder Aufgaben zum Nutzen einer Person mit einer Behinderung auszuführen.”

Da Fluggesellschaften ab März 2021 unterschiedliche Angebote für mitreisende Tier haben ist es unverzichtbar sich vor JEDER Reise genau zu informieren welche Bestimmungen für den gebuchten Flug gelten. Nur auf dieser Basis können Sie die AKTUELL beste Option finden, die für Sie und Ihr Tier passt.

Das ist der sicherste Weg um unangenehme Überraschungen (oder Kosten) zu vermeiden.

ESAeuropeTipp:  Rückversichern Sie sich zusätzlich, indem Sie sich von der Fluggesellschaft Ihrer Wahl schriftlich das ok für IHR Tier, ESA oder PSD, geben lassen, wenn Sie die Reise buchen. Nehmen Sie diese schriftliche Kommunikation in 2-facher Kopie auf die Reise mit um für den Fall, dass es Probleme gibt die getroffene Vereinbarung zu beweisen. Was eine Airline bestätigt hat und Sie beweisen können, dürfen Sie einfordern!

ESAeurope Hinweis: Alle von ESAeurope gemachten Aussagen zum Thema PSD richten sich auf die Empfehlungen der US DoT Standards und nicht auf die lokalen Bestimmungen verschiedener europäischer Staaten und Institutionen zum Thema Diensthund, Therapiehund oder Servicehund. Dies deswegen, da ESAeurope die besonderen und anderen Anforderungen eines Psychiatric Service Dog zur Betreuung und Begleitung betroffener Personen erkennt und diese nicht im Zusammenhang mit der Ausbildung gemeiner Servicehunde sieht.

Nun einige allgemeine Informationen zum Thema PSD (Psychiatric Service Animal).

Definition Service Hund

Ein Servicetier ist ein Hund, unabhängig von Rasse oder Typ, der individuell trainiert ist, um Arbeit zu verrichten oder Aufgaben zum Nutzen einer qualifizierten Person mit einer Behinderung, einschließlich einer körperlichen, sensorischen, psychiatrischen, intellektuellen oder anderen geistigen Behinderung, auszuführen. Andere Tierarten als Hunde, emotionale Unterstützungstiere, Komforttiere, Begleittiere und Servicetiere in Ausbildung sind keine Servicetiere im Sinne dieser Defintion. 

Definition PSD (Psychiatric Service Dog)

Ein Psychiatric Service Dog ist also per Definition ein Servicehund, der auf die Betreuung von psychischen und psychiatrischen Behinderungen eines Menschen orientiert ist. Psychiatrische Diensttiere werden genauso wie andere Diensttiere behandelt, die individuell darauf trainiert sind, Arbeit zu verrichten oder eine Aufgabe zum Nutzen einer qualifizierten Person mit einer Behinderung auszuführen. Fluggesellschaften ist es nach den US DoT Regeln erlaubt Servicetiere ausschließlich auf Hunde, unabhängig von Größe, Typ und Rasse, zu beschränken.

Definition Betreuer des PSD (Psychiatric Service Dog)

Ein Service Tier Betreuer ist ein Passagier im Luftverkehr, der entweder eine qualifizierte Person mit einer Behinderung ist, die Unterstützung von einem Diensttier (oder maximal 2 Servicehunden) erhält, das notwendige Arbeiten oder Aufgaben ausführt, die in direktem Zusammenhang mit der Behinderung der Person stehen, oder eine weitere Person die die Person mit einer Behinderung begleitet, die mit einem Diensttier reist (beispielsweise ein Elternteil eines minderjährigen Kindes oder ein Betreuer). Der Betreuer des Servicetiers ist dafür verantwortlich das Tier jederzeit unter Kontrolle zu halten, zu versorgen und zu beaufsichtigen, was auch das Toilettengehen und Füttern einschließt. 

Vorgaben zur Akzeptanz eines Psychiatric Service Dog

Die aktuelle Regelung des US DoT (final version) erlaubt es Fluggesellschaften, von Passagieren mit einer psychischen oder psychiatrischen Behinderung, die mit einem Servicetier reisen, zu verlangen, dass sie ein vom US DOT entwickeltes Formular ausfüllen und der Fluggesellschaft vorlegen, das die Ausbildung und das gute Verhalten des Tieres und den guten Gesundheitszustand des Tieres bescheinigt.

Bei Flugdauer von acht Stunden oder mehr erlaubt die Vorschrift den Fluggesellschaften eine schriftliche Bescheinigung zu verlangen, dass das Tier in der Lage ist, sich auf einem langen Flug entweder nicht zu erleichtern oder sich auf hygienische Weise zu erleichtern.  Dies ist eine weitere Vorgabe für das erforderliche Training des Hundes.

Entsprechende Formulare müssen bis zu 48 Stunden (72 Stunden bei internationalen Flügen) vor dem Reisedatum vorgelegt werden wenn die Reservierung des Passagiers vor diesem Zeitpunkt erfolgt ist und die Fluggesellschaft diese verlangt. Alternativ können Fluggesellschaften von einem Passagier mit einer Behinderung, der mit einem Servicetier in der Kabine reisen möchte, verlangen, dass er die Formulare am Tag der Reise am Abfluggate des Passagiers vorlegt. 

Fluggesellschaften sind verpflichtet, dem mit einem PSD reisenden Passagier die gleichen komfortablen Vorteile im Check in-Prozess einzuräumen, die auch anderen Passagieren zur Verfügung stehen (beispielsweise Online- und Curbside-Check-in). 

Die Vorgabe des US DoT stellt es Fluggesellschaften frei weitere sicherheitsrelevante Vorgaben zu verfügen. Beispiele sind: Anleinen, das Tragen des Beisskorbs, Kennzeichnungspflicht des PSD und andere. Die Fluggesellschaft kann zudem den Hundehalter für alle Schäden haftbar halten, die durch das Servicetier verursacht wurden. Des weiteren können Fluggesellschaften bei Fehlverhalten verfügen das Tier zu entfernen, beziehungsweise nur im Frachtraum zu befördern. Zusätzlich sollten Sie damit rechnen über die erfolgte Ausbildung des PSD befragt zu werden.

Ausbildung des PSD

Das US Department of Transportation fordert eine adequate Ausbildung des Hundes, definiert aber nicht wie diese Ausbildung im Einzelfall und Detail aussehen muss, beziehungsweise wer diese Ausbildung durchführen kann und darf. Wir interpretieren dies mit der Besonderheit der individuellen Anforderungen an Hunde, die ihre Serviceleistung für Menschen mit psychischen Problemen erbringen. Nach Meinung des US DoT kann daher die Ausbildung auch durch den Hundeführer selbst geschehen, so lange dieser Ausbildung und Erfolg der Ausbildung testiert und bestätigt. Es ist allerdings damit zu rechnen, dass über kurz oder lang Standards definiert werden, die diese Ausbildung betreffen.

Allgemeine Ausbildungsinhalte zum PSD

  • Der Hund lässt sich führen und kontrollieren von seinem Halter.
  • Der Hund zeigt kein aggressives Verhalten/Drohgebärden anderen Menschen und Tieren gegenüber.
  • Der Hund ist emotional stabil, ruhig und gelassen und kann Stress eigenständig regulieren. Ungewohnte Situationen sind erprobt und sind beherrschbar (wie plötzliche laute Geräusche oder die Bewegung in einer Menschenmenge ohne aggressives Verhalten).
  • Der Hund hat geübt für die Dauer der Reisezeit sich ruhig und unauffällig zu verhalten und am Platz zu verweilen.
  • Der Hund lässt sich von seinem Halter versorgen und beherrscht das angepasste Erledigen seiner Geschäfte.